Our decision to live in the heart of Kuala Lumpur

This time last year, we’d arrived in Kuala Lumpur…. I’d already done a couple of days of viewing condos with our agent and had narrowed it down to two places….

A shot i captured when my parents were here visiting us, taken at Taman Tasik Titiwangsa

Initially choosing an area to live in, while still finishing up our lives in Indonesia, was no easy task! I remember I joined a KL Facebook group and asked about the different areas of the city and where the ‘best’ place to live would be! Of course the responses came flying in and everyone had an opinion on which location was the best. Admittedly a lot depends on where you will be working, and where you will be sending the little ones to school…. but we were up for a bit of driving; anything we were setting ourselves up for was going to be easier than the daily hourly commute we had become used to prior to our move!

A bird’s eye view of the KLCC area, taken on a tour of the Petronas Twin Towers!

Now, while I agree there will always be negatives and positives, I will only say that…. we chose to live in KLCC…. I don’t know anywhere else in the world where we’d be able to live a stone’s throw away from the heart of the capital city, and to have the iconic Petronas Towers on our doorstep was the icing on the cake.

Our rooftop pool, and if I’m honest, the deciding factor for us – WOW!

I will never get bored with the sight of them and to date, they are my favourite landmark in the world! Come rain or shine, by day or by night, the twin towers stand tall and only ever impress me. They are simply spectacular.
Our apartment is lovely, and boy are the places spacious here, but if I’m honest, it was the roof top swimming pool that swayed our decision – never ever have I seen anything like it! And I don’t know if I will ever see anything that even comes close ever again!

As you can imagine, family times are fun at the top!

Goodness, we’re setting the bar high here, but who wouldn’t enjoy some fun family times in a place like this … with these views?!

one of the biggest playgrounds I’ve seen ever – and all just a 3 minute walk away!

While our condo building has a playground for children, there is nothing quite like having KLCC Park in your back garden to pop over to after school. Not only that, we are in walking distance from Pavilion Shopping Mall, Suria KLCC, Bukit Bintang and Avenue K for my beloved sessions at Fitness First once the little ones are at school.

If the day time views weren’t enough, take a look at this for a night shot!

There are so many lovely areas in Kuala Lumpur that were suggested to us; Sri Hartamas, Damansara Heights, Mont Kiara, all good in their own ways, but for us, I am so glad we chose somewhere in KLCC, it turned out to be the best decision for our family and it has been an amazing year!

S x

We didn’t have to leave our building on New Year’s Eve that’s for sure!

 

Leave a Reply

